News Sports Opinion Photos Social Classified Obits Contact
 
 
 

E-mail your comments and express your opinions on our Facebook page.
We reserve the right to refusal for content on any submission.

*Select stories are now archived with your comments. Click on the title to view the article.

-----

(12-27-16) Meeting Loletha

Wonderful story and article about a very sweet person - R McCaig

-----

(12-6-16) Comment for New Mayor

I want to say that the new Mayor has absolutely been helpful to me when he did not have to.  I placed a phone to him because I heard that he had a Criminal Justice Bachelor’s Degree.  With this being said, I was asking him for help in finding funds to help me complete my Bachelor’s Degree in Criminal Justice.  I have only seven classes left and ran completely out of funds, so now I am paying out of packet, which is very expensive.  It took him a day or two but he did call me back and told me that he had searched and searched for me and found nothing, and that he was sorry.  This man did not know me at all, but he was willing to help me, and that means a lot to me and my family.  With all of this being said, I want to also say GO TEAM HAMMOCK!!!  And Thank You for what you have done for me and thank you for what you are going to do for the City of Tallassee!!

Blessings,

Kalana Hammonds

-----

(12-6-16) Anderson Broke the Color Barrier

So sad to hear that Willie Anderson had died. He was one of the nicest, most beloved men Tallassee has ever produced. He always met me with a smile and a bear hug. He was truly my brother in Christ and my life is richer for having known him. God bless his family and friends in their grief - Rev. John Sparks

(12-6-16) Anderson Broke the Color Barrier

He was a great guy and will be missed - Joey Yates

(12-6-16) Anderson Broke the Color Barrier

Bro Willie, as I knew him was a giant of a man. He stood talk both in and out side of the church. His smile and character was impeccable. He was a giver and a helper. He was a great example of servanthood, fatherhood, encouraging others and tireless work - E Griggs

-----

(11-15-16) Rodgers Steps Down

Thanks for your good service to our little town. You will be missed as chief. Best wishes to you! - Anonymous

-----

(10-4-16) Hammock New Mayor-Elect

I won’t tell the national media how fast and accurate you guys are! Thanks for all y’all do - Jim Alice Cullars

-----

(8-16-16) Voters to Decide on Sunday Sales

Thanks for letting us/me know. I am glad we can vote on this. When I was growing up – way back – everything was closed on Sunday. Everything. You had better get your gasoline, groceries, and etc. on Saturday because there was no getting on Sunday. It was a day for church, family and afternoon naps and rest. I liked that. Think we will ever return to it.....oh, no. We never will but it was good – Those were the days, my friend. Those were the days. Good ole days at that - Carol Lynn

-----

(7-26-16) Tiger Paw Changing Hands

Diane, just read that you are retiring. Congratulations. I hope you love it as much as I do. Thank you so much for helping me with all those awards for TES. It was so nice being able to deal with someone locally. Enjoy those grands while you can. Hope to see you out and about - Shelby Rodgers

(7-26-16) Tiger Paw Changing Hands

I went into business about two months after Diane did.  I am really going to miss her, and Heather as well, but I am looking forward to Stephen and April having much success and I'm glad to have them downtown! - Suzannah Solomon Wilson

-----

(7-12-16) New Kayak Service Planned

Things sometimes appear great on the surface, but you have to peel away the layers to get to the real truth. One should investigate the increased traffic on the river and its affects. This river has always had limited access and has stayed very clean. As most river goers and landowners have seen this summer, there has already been an increase of trash in this beautiful river. Those that frequent the river leave with more trash than they bring. There is trash left at the city owned boat ramp by those that don’t respect the river. We collected 15-20 river rafts, cans, bottles, and other trash that had been left under the Hwy 229 bridge July 4th weekend. This trash was left by those doing exactly what this business is proposing. As traffic increases so will the trash. This is an idea to make money with no regard for anyone or anything downstream. As a friend wrote online, “I spent six years in the white water industry as a river guide and I have seen the negative effects. We, who love the river, will always leave it better than we found it. Tourists have no connection to the river and have no respect for what we love.” Personally I think the city should not commercialize the river and do everything it can to protect its beauty. It is in fact what this town was built around - Chadwick E. Shaw, P.E.

(7-12-16) New Kayak Service Planned

The Tallapoosa River isn't a place for unskilled kayakers and canoers.  That water is very dangerous when it is running @ 5k cfs or more.  Furthermore, it's dangerous when it's not running if you don't know how to run the river. What's more important?  people's lives or someone wanting to make a few $'s.  If you want to do something go help pick up trash that's left by people that don't care about the river, so we can continue to eat fish out of it - K Miller

(7-12-16) New Kayak Service Planned

So very happy about the water adventures. Been saying for years that it would be great for us.

-----

(5-31-16) Mills Condemned

John Stonaker must not be from Tallassee.  If he is, he is certainly not be from the Stalnaker families that made up a lot of East Tallassee for many decades, worked many, many hours in the Mt. Vernon Mills, and helped to make up the Crossroads Quartet that sang on their Sunday morning radio show on WTLS in the 1950’s.  They were proud of their hometown, fought for their country in the World Wars, coached youth baseball, attended church regular, and certainly would want to save anything of historical value in Tallassee, especially something as significant as the Old Mill Complex on the West Side of the Tallapoosa River.

That first thing that Mr. Stonaker should do is tour the Alabama Power Plant and the Confederate Armory & Steam Room, like the tours that were available during Tallassee Now.  He would not only get to see the magnificent structures and architect, but he would learn some of the history of Tallassee and realize real quick that had it not been for that pile of rock in the river, called Tallassee Falls and the visions of some early pioneers about the value of the falls and the use of the falls for power to run a large manufacturing plant, there would be no Tallassee.  Tallassee was on no major river for water traffic, no major railroad for rail traffic, and no major roads for road traffic.  However, it had a wonderful pile of rock in the middle of the Tallapoosa River that created a natural dam in the river and with a little effort could be used for much needed power, way before other forms of power were invented.  The thousands and thousands of rock that the building are constructed from came from the Tallapoosa River and if you’ll notice there are thousands more rock used to form retaining walls all around the facility.  These rocks were not created by machinery, they were created with lots of manpower and the work was overseen by master rock builders.  Many of the beams in the buildings were whole logs that were hand hewed into shape and pulled by horses and mules and lifted into place with lots of manpower.  They are magnificent pieces of work that we should, not only be proud of, but we should do everything in our power to preserve.

Some of the building have been saved through the ownership of the Talisi Historical Society, the Tallassee Redevelopment Association, and the work of the SCV and others.  There is still much work to be done and there is no telling what history still lies inside the walls of the 1852 Mill.  A lot of the wood has been removed, but some wood remains inside.  Under the ruble is steel remains from the original manufacturing plant.  I know there are the original metal pipe and large pulleys that were located on every floor to run the equipment via a belting system that eventually made its way down to the big wheel that was turned by water.  I also know that that wheel and the tunnel that directed water under the mill is still there.  I have seen it before and feel certain that it is still intact with the exception of the stairway that led down to it.  Who knows what other treasures are hidden within?

I can understand the need to clean up and make a location safe but condemnation, especially of this Historical Site is unthinkable.  If he works for the city, he should do everything in his power to assist the groups that have spent time, money, blood, sweat, and tears trying to preserve what is left.  With his position with the city, he should be able to make contacts that could help preserve instead of trying to tear down such an important part of Tallassee History.   It’s just like a ball player going to bat.  If he/she doesn’t swing the bat, it is a 100% guarantee that he/she will not hit the ball.  However, if they swing the bat, there is a possibility that they will hit the ball.  If these important buildings are destroyed, it is a 100% guarantee that they will be gone forever.  However, if Mr. Stonaker will support and work with these groups and the groups will continue their efforts to preserve, maintain, protect, and rebuild these buildings, there is a possibility that one day, we will have something that will be even more presentable, bring in tourist, and who knows, may even help to repay the money spent to preserve history - Roger Davidson

(5-31-16) Mills Condemned

Would condos be out of the question with places for clubhouse parties and weddings, kayaking, fishing and entertainment. Tallasseee needs places around the water and it would bring in people for timeshare condos. I hate seeing everything in my hometown looking old and run down. Do something great because it's a great place and needs a new look to make people want to move in not out. Thank you - Linda Chapman

(5-31-16) Mills Condemned

There is not enough support from the local Residents of Tallassee and surrounding area to support a park built on 18 acres of prime land.  A wedding venue would be a waste of money. How many weddings is there a year in the city? The city population is not going to increase when there's no shopping, recreation, eating establishments and Employment other than the ones that have been located there for years. Most of those don't have the income to continue growing their business. When I visit relatives in Tallassee, i don't see growth anywhere. I notice buildings that once flourished as a thriving business now closed and the dwellings looks old and run down.  Nothing has changed for the better in the last thirty to 35 years.

The City Officials need to bring new businesses to the city on both sides of the river which includes East and west Tallassee located in two Counties. (Elmore and Tallapoosa). I never hear of anyone talking about growing, especially on the East side of the city by offering incentives to bring industrial businesses to the area. How many new business employing hundreds of people have located or relocated to Tallassee in the past?  There is so much wide open space and the river running threw the city. Interstate 85 seven to eight miles away with larger cities in every direction. Tallassee continues to loose businesses with such opportunities for growth as the other cities around has. 

I can't name one city close to Tallassee that continues to set stagnant while every City around it is not progressing in size. That's the leadership of the city's fault. At the growth rate of the Towns that has now became cities, it won't be many years before they'll be knocking on the City Limits signs  wanting to annex Tallassee into their city. Who would have thought twenty years ago that Millbrook would be the size it is today? Prattville? Drive down Cobb-Ford road. Montgomery has expanded in every direction. Auburn expanding toward Montgomery and the State line.  Every City has growth but Tallassee. The City's Leaders and council Members has got to work on growth.      

There are a lot of hard Working people there. Look how many drive thirty plus miles a day, one way to work. Bring the work to them. Get the leadership it takes to run the City. Make a plan and stick to it. Get a group together, form a board that will go out and find the Businesses to build there.  Think what an Automobile Assembly Plant would do for the city. The space is there, all the amenities needed to build is there. The people looking for and willing to work are there.  

It's time to move forward.  If the City keeps going in the direction it's headed, it'll never advance. You can't keep doing the same things over and over and expect different results. Changing comes from change.  Growing comes from growth - Warren Hale/Foley

(5-31-16) Mills Condemned

QUESTION. Since the mill has been closed many YEARS before this fire, why has nothing been done? All these grandiose ideas are pipe dreams. When will it even be cleaned up? If the property were just cleaned up and maintained at least folks could take a clean, safe path to fish! This has become an , I'll believe it when I see it, game. It looked horrid before and now it's dangerous! If someone gets hurt there in that mess maybe, maybe, something will have to finally get done. How many more years is ANYTHING really going to get done?! - Margaret Byers

-----

(5-10-16) Landmark Mill Destroyed by Fire / Tallasseeans React to Mill Fire

I haven’t lived in Tallassee for the last 50 years, but a part of me burned this past week. I worked in the mill and commuted to Auburn in the early 60s and my dad bricked all the windows in the 50s. Fournately I have a few artifacts as memories as well as just memories. Sad! - Lanier Vines

(5-10-16) Landmark Mill Destroyed by Fire / Tallasseeans React to Mill Fire

My parents, Ollie and Grace Jackson worked in the mill.  They were so  grateful for their jobs that provided us a comfortable way of life, enabling them to own their home and have lifelong relationships with coworkers of the mill. It was a way of life. They worked hard, saved their money, we went to Panama City and Daddy fished every summer on the 4th July break.  The mill gave so many of us life........we did not always like it but we all know it was a good and decent. It was very hard work and my folks hardly ever complained....think about how hot they got!!!!!! All us boomers would have died like flies!!!!! I will also be forever grateful to the Mr. and Mrs. Wilson Patterson for their love of the community, their generosity, and their kindness to employees and families of Tallassee Mills. THE MILL will always be in our hearts and a blessing to us all ! - Linda Jackson Brennon

(5-10-16) Landmark Mill Destroyed by Fire / Tallasseeans React to Mill Fire

I was so very sad to see the photos and learn of the fire at the Tallassee Mill.  We all grew up hearing that whistle blow at six, two, and ten; our lives revolved around that schedule.  Three generations of my family, worked in the mill at some point in their lives, and they were grateful for the opportunity.  While those of us who grew up in Tallassee are especially saddened by the loss of the mill, the long list of historical treasures in both Alabama, and our country,  now has one less valuable gem. Truly, a great loss to Tallassee, the State of Alabama, and our great Country - Marsha Lyle Price/Oak Hill, Virginia

-----

(5-3-16) Tallassee Squirrel Revival

Great story and great job by Georgia Anne Butler - Ruthanne McCaig

(5-3-16) Tallassee Squirrel Revival

What a sweet article on Brandon and his pet!  Georgia Anne did a good job reporting it, too! - Suzannah Solomon Wilson

-----

(4-19-16) Cottle Was Longtime Columnist/Host

Great pictures of our Senior ball players graduating – Best Wishes to the whole team as we enter the Play-offs.  Go Tigers!! - Carol Lynn

-----

(4-19-16) Sports

Great pictures of our Senior ball players graduating – Best Wishes to the whole team as we enter the Play-offs.  Go Tigers!!

We may not have any students attend anymore but we will always be part of the Tallassee Tiger Spirit for All!  Coach Clayton and the other Coaches Best Wishes too! 

It is Team and Unity that win! I will be there cheering on! - Laurie Rygiel

-----

(4-12-16) Take Me Out to the Ball Game

Awesome story. Thanks for sharing - Ashley Newman

(4-12-16) Take Me Out to the Ball Game

Great article. Thanks for taking your son on the outing that he will have as a great memory the rest of his life. Glad you had the opportunity to experience that earlier as well. Thanks for sharing. There is nothing more special that the one on one time with your son (or any child or grandchild.) - Carol Lynn

-----

(3-8-16) SCV Raises Flag Downtown

Dear People of Tallassee,

We seldom see such a blatant distortion of history as the what the SCV posts as their justification for planting the divisive battle flag among us.

They say the Secession was not about slavery.  Of course it was.  Just read the arguments in the state legislatures.  It was all about slavery. 

SCV quotes Lincoln saying that if he could preserve the Union and allow slavery he would.  But he could not because the slave holders knew that if they stayed they would gradually be defeated politically.  It was the slavers who started the war because of slavery, not Lincoln.

Heroically, the two delegates from Elmore County (all of Tallassee was the in Elmore) were opposed to Secession.  Let us celeberate them, not the SCV.

Yes, I too could qualify as a member of SCV, and I renounce everything they stand for.  Their idea for a SCV park in Tallassee is galling. 

Please renounce this, as Tallassee renounced Secession.  We don’t need to suffer this ugly any more.
I note by the way that the SCV does not fly the US flag above their banner of hate.  They are still traitors for what we stand for - Arnold Wilson

-----

(2-23-16) Riders Pay Tribute to Chase

I was so sad and brought to tears hearing about the death of Chase Borders. I was working in the ER not too long ago when he came in one night. I opened the doors for the ambulance and I saw a beautiful young man with the biggest smile on his face that I had ever seen. I ask later about him and found out he was paralyzed in an accident at Monster Mountain a while back. My heart went out to him and his father. I talked with his father for a bit and learned enough to know that he was so committed to his son. They were so close and so good together. I have thought about him and that smile so many times over the years and I wondered how anyone could have such a beautiful smile and be in the shape he was in. My heart goes out to his father.  I don't believe I will EVER forget that smile. God bless you - AC

-----

(2-16-16) Council Passes Resolution Regarding Flag

Justice and common sense prevails.

The Confederate flag proponents are trying to hide behind a thin veil of "revisionist history" in which the Old South, a fantasy romanticized by novels and films, was a Happy Place.

Their refusal to acknowledge the use of the treasonous flag -from the civil rights era to today- as a symbol of White Supremacy and hatred is equivalent to the former leader of Iran who denied that the Holocaust ever happened.

I am proud of my hometown today - Arthur Oliver/ Designer

(2-16-16) Council Passes Resolution Regarding Flag

The recent issue about the stars and bars, symbolic of black oppression, flying in town reminds me that all should know that the Tallapoosa County delegates to the Alabama Secession ordinance voted to oppose secession.

Many people today suppose that secession was accepted by all of our people.  NOT.

Let’s not let a few racist bullies impose their idea of the Confederacy on us.  Many of our forbears fought secession, and later died anyway.  Let’s not brand them as the racists that the blowhards would paint us.
The war for slavery was lost.  Thank God. 

Please tell the story of Jemison and Smith, the courageous Tallapoosa County delegates who voted against secession.  (All of Tallassee was in Tallapoosa County before Elmore County was began in 1866.) -Arnold Wilson

-----

(1-26-16) Handler Features Tallassee in Racism Documentary

I don't think Tallassee is a racist place. We seem to all blend rather well. I was born in 1952 and when I was in high school the blacks started to school at Tallassee High. I remember that I thought it was strange that we were not already going to the same schools. Color didn't matter to me or to most of us for that matter. I think the racist card is kept on the table mostly because of media, especially in small towns like ours. I do not look down on anyone because of skin color. We all bleed red. We are all of the same race, the human race! The only difference in folk to me is those who love the Lord and those who don't.  I hate to tell people but the truth is you will spend eternity with people of all colors, no matter where you choose to spend it - Mickie Nabors

(1-26-16) Handler Features Tallassee in Racism Documentary

I'm from Tallassee born in the 60's the small community has it issues. I went to all 3 school it's about how you was brought up it's not the color of our skin a true Christian know that I let God judge.  Me and my classmates next looked at color regardless how we was raised we treat each other with love and respect. We can't help what happened in the past. If we bury the past in have a funeral for it we can walk away. I love my town History there - Jackie Robinson

(1-26-16) Handler Features Tallassee in Racism Documentary

No one in Tallassee had ever heard of  Netflix. Now every one wants to see it. When you put Al Sharpton out there you have the most Racism person in the world. It is all about money if it wasn't they would not have been there - Vann Royal

-----

(1-5-16) Ansley Named Co-Defensive Coordinator

As a former educator and neighbor of Derick Ansley, my husband and I are so proud of Derick’s accomplishments. He has become a good role model for children and especially the children in the Jordanville neighborhood where he resided at one time. Thank God for his accomplishments - Cynthia and Bernard Martin

-----

(12-29-15) Big Plans for Library in 2016

I am very pleased that Margaret Lumpkin has been named the new director of Community Library - Ruthanne McCaig

-----

(11-10-15) Recreational Facilities, New Pool Discussed

I really think the idea of building a pool is a dumb move. The emphasis should be on building a new recreation complex not a stand alone pool. Where did this ridiculous idea come from? I believe someone asked why build this and then decide to build the complex which, by the way, contains a pool. I guess you'd have a pool to practice in, ha. I understand Mrs Funderburks concerns about the 30 yd pool compared to a 25 yd one, but swim team lasts how long 8 -10 weeks. Sorry, I don't see the feasibility in this at all. Get up off your butts and build the complex with everything included and forget this stand alone pool idea - Jimmy Hill

(11-10-15) Recreational Facilities, New Pool Discussed

I am dismayed to read that the construction of the proposed "recreation complex" appears to have been revisited. The consideration of a $11,000,000.00 project for a city of 5-6,000 people is absurd at best. Does anyone know how much this would be for every man, woman and child living in this city and what small percentage of the city population would use this facility? This project appears to be an architect's dream plan for the city without any regard for a budget. Funding for this project would primarily be provided by increasing the city sales tax one more cent, bringing the sales tax locally to 10% in the Elmore County part of Tallassee and 11.0% in the Tallapoosa County part of the city. (The sales tax rate is currently 10% in East Tallassee.) This would limit the city from proposing any additional increase in the sales tax in the future to fund other higher priority projects such as school construction in a city school system. If this project is somehow able to go forward, I would prefer that this project to be funded entirely by user fees. Also, is a recreation complex really the best utilization of the 35 acre parcel of choice industrial development land? As an actor one said in a movie, "A man has to know his limitations", and I think that this also applies to the city as well - Archie McRimmon

-----

(10-27-15) Art/Quest Programs Propel TES Students

It is so refreshing to see young students so excited & enthusiastic about learning! Keep up the good work! - Renata Jackson

-----

(10-13-15) Mitchell Was A Recognizable Voice

Thank you so much for writing the article on my Dad and sharing it with the community. He will be missed so much by me and my family. I am so glad that the community was able to know him and see/hear him in the many aspects he served at WTLS which he loved so much! - Amy Mitchell-Edwards

-----

(9-22-15) Among the Nation's Best

I am so proud of Josh.  I have known him most of his life and he even calls me momma.  He is a very special man!  Love ya, Josh - Vickie

-----

(9-15-15) Hiking Trail Could Become Major Attraction

How wonderful for Tallassee and surrounding area to be blest with this new hiking trail!!!  We do have beautiful country all about us.  Much appreciation to all behind establishing this treasure - Jeanie Turner

-----

(9-1-15) Fans Told to Quieten Down

I too agree that the games are fun and exciting, and with that comes a lot of noise. However  I was one for the “Band Moms” seating below. At time it sounded like the upper deck was about to fall on the lower deck. It was a distraction form the game and the band. Not only was this person hitting the chain link fence but it sounded like thunder coming from above. Have fun and be loud with pride. But at the same time control yourself and act  in a manner of an adult. Yes I yell and cheer on the team and the band. But I also want to be able to hear the plays being called, which we could not over the sounds from the upper deck. This is our 6th year with the band and this was the first time the upper deck has ever had to be called out. It just takes one person to ruin it for all. Our kids are the “Pride of Tallassee” so show some pride and have fun. But keep in mind the new stadium is already loud. With your smaller children running around with no supervision climbing the walls behind the stands and up and down the stairs like the is no tomorrow. The stairs to the far right of the band is just that for the band. RESPECT each other. At least for 4 hours every Friday night - G. Popplewell

(9-1-15) Fans Told to Quieten Down

People have blown this out of proportion from what really went on . I sit in the lower section next to the band and this is really loud . Fans can be loud as they want to . Holler,yell ,clap whatever. The problem as I saw it and heard it was someone in the top section was banging some kind of metal on the railings. With the stands made out of metal this sound really was loud and piercing when you are directly below it . People in the upper deck need to be considerate of the ones below. Yell all you want don't bang on the metal railings or drop or throw things to the lower section . We had a shoe come down on the lower section.

Who ever told the policeman to go up to the upper section should have told the ones to stop banging on the rails with a metal object not to stop being too loud. He got the wrong information. I heard on the morning show that you was sending I believve Trey over to the lower section tomorrow night with a cordless mic to see how loud it is . Being too loud is not what he should listen for . That is alright . Listen for the banging on the rails . That is not alright .

I don't think the school would like it if they damaged the safety rails in some way.  These stands cost a lot of money.

Just be considerate of the ones below but have fun and be loud as you want without banging on metal - Lower section

-----

(8-25-15) Devotionals and Biscuits

I see a losing lawsuit if a public school is sending its football team to a church for breakfast and a prayer.  When will these schools ever learn? - F Bookheim

-----

(8-18-15) Former THS Director Now at MSU

Congratulations--ya’ll were great mentors for my girls--Jamie, Betty Clair and Sarah.  I remember picking them up from Bible study at your house across from city hall [formerly k-4} - Amelia Barton

(8-18-15) Former THS Director Now at MSU

An amazing director and great guy! I enjoyed very much the time we worked together! - Don Evans

(8-18-15) Former THS Director Now at MSU

Thanks for taking time to highlight on of the best. Craig Aarhus and his family is loved and adored by The Famous Maroon Band Family, Students (former and current), and MSU. Thank you for highlighting on of our own - Harold Boler

-----

(8-4-15) Summer Reading Program

This program is great!! Margaret Lumpkin does an excellent job each year. My grandchildren really enjoy this program. Audree is looking forward to next year already. It is a wonderful way for children and parents to spend time together. That you to those who make this possible and especially to Margaret for making it fun and enjoyable - Mickie Nabors

-----

(7-28-15) Census Estimates Significant Growth

This is good news for Elmore County, hopefully Tallassee will be able to get on board with all this new growth, it seems like we have been the same size for as long as I can remember - J. S.

(7-28-15) Census Estimates Significant Growth

Yes, Elmore County is growing but I don't thank Tallassee is. I maybe wrong if anything it's growing a little outside the city but not inside - Johnny

-----

(7-28-15) Tallassee Times

Just wanted to say “Thank You!” for the weekly on-line Tallassee News.  I can find out what’s happening in our tri-county area in minutes.  Keep up the great work - Susan Dillard

-----

(7-21-15) Speed Limit on Gilmer

I share an annoyance with other folks who traverse through Tallassee on Gilmer and 229 South on a daily basis.  The posted speed limit is 35 mph, just try and drive that and see what happens to you.  The prevailing speed in the mornings between 7:00 and 7:30 at least, is 45 to 50 mph.  There is very rarely a police presence on Gilmer, not to mention 229 South.  I have observed city vehicles, county vehicles, even trooper vehicles exceeding the posted limit.  One recent morning I was passed bay a city police car which was traveling at at least 45 mph.  The officer was not on a call, just headed toward the station.  On evening a few days earlier, I was travailing at maybe 57 mph coming in on 229S and was passed by a Tallassee police car.  So my question is what is the real speed limit on Gilmer? - Rocky

-----

(7-21-15) Macey Belle Stewart (Service Above Self)

So very proud of Macey Belle - Wanda Hamilton

-----

(7-14-15) Robert Scroggins (Flying Again 70 Years Later)

I was the Company Commander  of the Tallassee Nation Guard for several years and had the honor to serve with dedicated  individuals  like Rober Scroggins.  There were three individuals in that unit that if they had told me " Come on Capitan we are going to h... I would have followed  them because  I knew we would be back. The three  Buddy Emfinger, "Runt" Sayers and Robert Scroggins - Gerald Cannon

-----

(7-7-15) Knapp Wraps Up College Career

I am so proud of Davis. I knew he would go very far with his bright mind, wit, and personality. I taught him 4 years in the gifted program at Southside Middle School. He was a real pleasure to to know and to teach! - Candy Lancaster

-----

(7-7-15) Babe Ruth Tournament

The Tournament should not be held on Sunday as this keeps families with kids playing ball from worship services.   In times pass, this would not have been allowed by city officials, Rec department officials nor the Babe Ruth organization. Respectfully - Steve Hammonds

-----

(6-23-15) Love Reaches Out with Writings

So glad to hear this about Andrus. I am so proud of you. Keep up your good work! I know Mrs. Grooms is smiling down on you and just as proud of you as I am! - Mrs. Nancy McGhee

-----

(6-23-15) Schaffner Breaks State Record

That is so awesome Meghan ,so proud of you! You are always amazing me! Congrats - Neil and Peggy Suggs

-----

(6-16-15) From Barnett to Broadway

I loved the article on Arthur Oliver. I think what he has accomplished is amazing. I went to Tallassee High School with him. I’ve always thought of him as a sweet person who has a lot of talent. Tallassee should be proud to call him family. I can’t wait to see what else the future has in store for him. Best of luck to you !!! - Wendy Clayton

-----

(6-16-15) Tallassee Baseball

Tallassee baseball is officially dead. It has been a long painful death, but now it is complete. We worked long and hard to get to the mountaintop. Along the way we won seven state titles in high school, went to three World Series in Babe Ruth and were always competitive any time we took the field from Dixie Youth through high school.                                               

Unfortunately, we thought we were entitled to be on top and stopped working. We practice one, two times a week in youth leagues. You have to practice to improve. When we were successful, we practiced everyday. Until we roll up our sleeves and get to work, we will be mediocre. What we are doing now is not working.               

We need to wake up and turn this thing around. I would love to see the name Tallassee drive fear into everyone we play, but the only way to do that is work, work and work some more - Robert Ellis

(6-16-15) Tallassee Baseball

Robert and other Tallassee baseball supporters, I would agree with you that Tallassee baseball is lacking certain areas, but the past is just that, the past. You challenge others to work more and harder at the sport. While this is good initiative; what is the whole thing really about? The kids. You want the kids to succeed and maybe you want success for yourself as well, but the kids have to want it for themselves, and as it were they are just kids. Let them be kids.

I am four years removed from the halls of Tallassee High. Looking back, all the countless hours of time spent on the practice field for city baseball, even school ball is no longer worth it to me. I could have spent many of those hours being a kid instead of practicing baseball for a coach who wanted to win more for himself than for the kids. I have no ill will, but I challenge you and others to step back and look at the whole picture, look at what the kids want.

I was lucky to have a great coach in Babe Ruth league that didn’t feel the need to practice every day of the week and I thank him for that. He made baseball fun again because it was about us, the team, not him. In the end we became the most successful on the field. Is that a coincident? Maybe! But maybe it was that we truly had fun and baseball wasn’t turned into work. The bottom line is that when the kids have to practice almost every day of the week it is the last thing they want to do; they just want it to be over.

P.S. Please remember the section this is in. Opinion - Mark Lassiter

-----

(6-16-15) Stumberg Gym Gets Makeover

I played in the first game ever played in the new gym and actually had the honor of scoring the first two points in it. It was like the Taj Mahal to us compared to the "old" gym that still stands today.  Eclectic had the worst gym I ever played in, with fans having to move their feet so you could throw the ball in on the sides of the court. Think it's gonna look really good with the new floor - Jimmy Hill

-----

(6-9-15) Baynes Enjoys Special Day

Back in the "good old days" when Coach Baynes was here, baseball reigned supreme. The effect he had on his high school teams was great but he had that same effect on youth ball as well. Everywhere our youth teams played, from Alabama to New York, they were constantly complimented for their passion, attitude, manners, and belief they could beat anybody, anywhere, any time. These kids believed in the hard work, dedication and unselfishness that Coach Baynes instilled in his players. All they wanted to do was grow up and play for the high school and win their "State Championship." Sure was a great feeling when people would find out you were from Tallassee and they would say "y'all sure can play some baseball in that small town."  It all began with Coach Baynes!!!!!!!! - Jimmy Hill

-----

(5-26-15) Venable Talks About K-Otics/Classics IV

Double Shot is one of my favorite songs! My husband and I go to Red Hill School house every Friday night and listen to the music they play. One of the musicians, John Moore, plays Double Shot for me every Friday night. Tommy Mann came up one night, but I missed him. I hope he comes back and maybe brings a few more! - Sandy Phillips

-----

(5-19-15) Cochrans Pay Tribute to Robinson

Loved this story these little guys are my Great Nephews. Thanks to my brother Bobby for posting this story. Just want to say not many good story are posted ant more. I'm not just that because the guys are my Great Nephews. Hugs to all! - Evelyn

-----

(5-5-15) Neptune Opens Clinic

This is wonderful news for these people. I bet the Republicans are screaming SOCIALISM! Subsidized Health Care! - Lowndes County Squire

-----

(4-28-15) "Continuation Lane"

People leaving GKN should realize that they were given “MERGING” lanes when exiting to the right onto Hwy 229.  A merging lane is to allow traffic (merging traffic) to make a smooth transition into the continuous flow of traffic.DO NOT stop in the merging lane. Improper usage of a lane is what causes accidents. Common sense tells you if you can’t merge for some reason……..then don’t merge, if that’s the cause of you stopping in the lane.

This also applies to the “Continuation” lane in front of CVS at 5 Points. When making right turns from Barnett onto Gilmer, please DO NOT stop, continue your turn as you watch traffic to your left to make sure they are abiding by their rules of the road, as well. I have watched too many times as people have caused accidents and/or almost causing an accident when not abiding by the proper rules of the road. Both cases of lane usage are Alabama laws, not your preferences at the time of use. If you blow your horn at someone when they have stopped dead still in the turning lane, they are brutally offended. Your inability to drive properly or your hurt feelings at the time someone blows their horn at you are not good enough reasons for me or anyone else to be killed in an accident caused by you! For the lane at 5 Points the city should install a “MERGE” or “Continue Moving” sign like Montgomery or many towns use - BH

(4-28-15) "Continuation Lane"

It is curious that folks believe that one is not supposed to stop when turning on to Gilmer from Barnett at CVS.  There is a right turn arrow for the turning lane that is green for a spell and then goes out leaving a red light as one of two signals there.  Doesn't the law read that one can turn right on red AFTER stopping? - R.O.

(4-28-15) "Continuation Lane"

The two lights at Five Points intersection – one is for the straight lane which travels across the intersection onto Friendship Road and the other is for the left turn onto Jordan Avenue. The markings in the right turn lane also indicates it as a continuation lane. There would either be a traffic light, a yield Sign or a stop line in the right lane if any other action is needed other than continuing your right turn - BH

(4-28-15) "Continuation Lane"

Take a little closer look at the traffic lights there is one which has an arrow pointing to the right in the direction of the "continuation lane."  It will be green then change to yellow and then default to red - R.O.

----

(4-28-15) Varner Hired in Brewton

Dr. Varner will truly be missed. He is a great leader and a great role model. I wish him nothing but the best in his future endeavors and I know that God will bless him and his family greatly - T Helton/Bus Driver - TCS

(4-28-15) Varner Hired in Brewton

Congratulations to Dr. Kenneth Varner on his selection as the new Superintendent of Education for the Brewton City School System. The citizens of Brewton and Escambia County are getting a first class individual and an exceptional educator and administrator. For my family, Dr. Varner will always hold a special place in our hearts. this past Friday, when out son, Price Sparks, graduated from Jacksonville State University, Dr. Varner was there to shake his hand and offer congratulations. He didn't have to do that. He was certainly busy with preparing for the move to Brewton, yet he took time from his family to drive two hours to attend Price’s graduation. That is just the kind of man he is. The students and families of Brewton will forever benefit from his tenure there. In my opinion, Tallassee will feel the loss of this able and caring man - Rev. John E. Sparks/Senior Pastor, Antioch Baptist Church - Florien, Louisiana

----

(4-21-15) Clean Up Week

What about Carrville? That place looks like a slum if I ever saw one, and I've had people that don't live here tell me so - J

(4-21-15) Clean Up Week

Yes, one block from City Hall is the worst trash dump in Tallassee, the old mill, the part on the East side.  If that were a private residence they would have already been served notice to clean it up or the City would and send them the bill.  Enough said - Jim Alice Cullars

----

(4-7-15) Patton Plaza

We've heard talk about a new tractor place going into the old Walmart location - Chris Stewart

(4-7-15) Patton Plaza

Entertainment venues would be a nice option. Bowling, skating, laser tag, something for families and young people - Jane Hornsby

(4-7-15) Patton Plaza

How about a Dari-Delite from 1963-64-65-66 Tallassee era! Now that would ROCK! - Jimmy Cole, Lowndes County

----

(3-31-15) News Coverage

Hey. I'm enjoying every single story that is put out. Keep up the good work!!!!! - Chris Stewart

---

(3-24-15) Margaret Ward

Hang in there Aunt Sook! - Jan Ward

----

(3-17-15) Arnold Dopson

He was a great man. I will never forget the first time I met him. We moved to the old Roberts house, two house down from the Dopson’s. We had started to unload and Mr. Dopson drove up in his old truck. We had empty boxes everywhere in the yard. We welcomed us to Tallassee and to the Noble subdivision. Before he left he asked if I needed help with all those boxes and I said that would be great. He told he would have the city come by and get them for me. I remember telling my wife as he left, “I don’t know who that guy is, but he is somebody, that’s for sure.”

We will truly miss him as a mentor, a friend and a neighbor - Joey Wiginton

(3-17-15) Arnold Dopson

A great man and major contributor to the community. Highly respected - William F. Shepard

(3-17-15) Arnold Dopson

I'd like to say what a wonderful friend Arnold was to my family, and especially to my dad.  I couldn't
believe how when my dad was sick and in the hospital, Arnold came to visit everyday.  He was also
concerned with out needs as well.  What a thoughtful and committed friend he was. He must surely
be receiving many stars in his crown! - Carol Crouch Cleverdon

-----

(3-10-15) Trey Cochran-Gill

Thanks for the article on Trey in today's Tallassee Times! We are so excited for him! And we appreciate all the love he gets from Tallassee!

Thanks again for all the kind and encouraging words for Trey! - Corinne Cochran-Gill

-----

(2-24-15) Grady Rowe

My heart is broken for the loss of Grady Rowe. He was a coach and mentor to my son, Price, and a role model for every student who attended ECHS in the 22 years he taught there. Our prayers are for his family, friends and for the ECHS family during this time. God be with you all - John Sparks

(2-24-15) Grady Rowe

We were proud to have our grandsons play football with Coach Grady Rowe. Our grandsons were Si Colley, Zachary Colley and Kevin Millwood. This is a tragic loss and he will be missed by so many as he affected so many lives. We were sorry to hear about his untimely passing. Our condolences to his family and all who found him such a mentor and pillar of the community - The Scotty Millwood Family

-----

(2-17-15) Oswalt Retirement

What a nice article on Steve Oswalt!  My mama always said once you put your feet under someone's kitchen table and drank the water from the Tallapoosa River you would never want to leave Tallassee! - Suzannah Solomon Wilson

(2-17-15) Oswalt Retirement

Great story!  Happy retirement Uncle Steve!  We Love andand  are so and are so proud of you!  "War Eagle" from your favorite niece and family. Enjoy! - Gina Stanley

-----

(2-10-15) Recreation Facility

A facility like that would be outstanding for Tallassee and could attract many activities.  However, the two biggest things that would be missing would be hotels and eating establishments.  The City of Tallassee should meet with Milton McGregor and push hard for the re-opening of the Victoryland complex.  The hotel was one of the very best in the area and there were several dining options.  I realize that it was “casino – gambling oriented” but they have taken Las Vegas and turned it into a family-friendly destination.  With a few additions, the Victoryland complex could become family-friendly and would serve the Tallassee area very well for the hotel facility and extra dining facilities.  In addition to baseball and softball tournaments, other events could be held in Tallassee with a nearby hotel, including swimming tournaments, wrestling tournaments, soccer tournaments, and the Junior-Senior Prom could be held there and would be a lot closer than kids traveling to Montgomery - Roger Davidson

___________________________________________________________________________

More Archived Articles:

2012 Municipal Election Results
Wrestlers Bring Home Trophy
New Alumni Association to Induct First Class
Digging Up Bones
Celebrating Seuss
Cleaning Up the Town
Local Couple Opens Gameday Clips
Artist's Work Includes Tallassee Landmarks
The Tallassee Jet
Achimon Among First to Play AU Fight Song
Former Players Reminisce about Brewton Trip
Broadcast Pioneer Will Be Missed
You're Not in Tallassee Anymore
Osceola's Origins
Parker Station
Baynes Makes Super Bowl Trip
Oswalt to Retire after Four Decades with City
Tallassee's Other Streak
Baynes Wins ASWA Award
Tallassee's Origins
WTLS Celebrates 60th Year
White Christmas in Tallassee
Tallassee History Unveiled
Community Mourns Loss of Coach
Multiplex Proposal Draws Public Interest
Cochran-Gill Called Up for Spring Training Game
Ward Keeps On Rolling
Dopson More Than Just A Banker
Totty's Long-Standing Record Broken
Fugitive Now in Custody
Reese All-Metro Selection
The Card Collector
The Last Paying Customer at the Hotel Talisi
What's Next for Patton Plaza
Roby Visits Tallassee
Neighbor Gives Account of Alber Explosion
Art Planned for TES Curriculum
Board to Search for New Superintendent
Varner Hired in Brewton
Former Downtown Business Owner Dies
Atkinson Retiring from Car Business
Three Arrested in DYB Break-In
Neptune Clinic Now Open
Bo Knows Bikes
Moving Forward with a Purpose
Benson Was Local Legend
Stewart Aspires to be Nashville Star
Aussie Bound
Cochrans Pay Tribute to Robinson
Venable Talks About K-Otics/Classics IV
Cochran-Gill Assigned to Southern League
Mullins Works Out with NFL Teams
Ronnie Baynes Day to be Proclaimed
Hollywood Celeb Visits Tallassee
Baynes Enjoys Special Day
Former Players Reminisce About Brewton Trip
Superintendent Selected
From Barnett to Broadway

Stumberg Gym Gets Makeover
Kervin Discusses Handler Visit
Shipman Contract Approved
Schaffner Breaks State Record
Blalock Taking Position in Georgia
Love Reaches Out with Writings
Bowers Plan for Move to Beirut
Knapp Wraps Up College Career
Cross-Country Cyclists Roll Through Tallassee
Flying Again 70 Years Later
Local Media Group Partners with Tuskegee
Stewart Puts Service Above Self
Census Estimates Significant Growth
Z-Man to be "the Man" in 2015
Faulk Faces Allegations of Ethics Violations
Faulk Responds to Allegations
Many "Heroes" with Reading Program
Familiar Faces Retiring from City - Mack Davis
Familiar Faces Retiring from City - Marilyn Sayers
Familiar Faces Retiring from City - Mickey Sayers
New School Year, New Man at the Helm
We Are the Champions - Again
Former THS Director Now at MSU
City Discusses Tax Abatements
Devotionals and Biscuits
Pastor and Family Bid Farewell
Fans Told to Quieten Down
Hiking Trail Could Become Major Attraction
Among the Nation's Best
Tallassee Has New Pediatrician
Angle Practiced in Tallassee for 25 Years
Holmes Discusses Budget
5 Million Hits and Counting
Mitchell Was A Recognizable Voice
Art/Quest Programs Propel TES Students
Suzannah Celebrates Anniversary
Recreational Facilities, New Pool Discussed
The Place to Be
First Self-Defense Course Complete
Trustmark Honors Dopson
City Infrastucture Work Progresses
Cochran-Gill Acquired By A's
Santa Visits Wall Street Community
Big Plans for Library in 2016
Moseley Writes Peavey Book
Ansley Named Co-Defensive Coordinator
Globetrotter Hailed from Tallassee
Being a THS Graduate
Hall of Pride Inductions
Stonaker Talks About New Job, Ongoing Projects
Tigers Moving Back to 4A
Handler Features Tallassee in Racism Documentary
Tallassee Baseball 2016 Preview
2016 Football Slate in Place
River Trails Could Be in City's Future
Mat Cats 2nd Overall
Tigers Ready for 2016 Baseball Season
Ansley Rejoining Tide Staff
The O'Brien Streak
Council Passes Resolution Regarding Flag
Wrestlers State Runner-Up, Big Jake Wins Title
Cancer Knows No Age
Riders Pay Tribute to Chase
Taylor Reflects on Primary Results
SCV Raises Flag Downtown
City Plan to Revise Flag Ordinance Retracted
Rivers Headed to Alabama A&M
Webster Opens Training Facility
Take Me Out to the Ball Game
City to Seek Grants for New Pool
Tallassee Among "Most Affordable Places"
Cottle Was Longtime Columnist/Host
Williams An All-Star Pick
Hitting the Century Mark
Tigers Swept in One-Run Games
Blankenship Completes Boston Marathon
Tractor Supply Considering a Tallassee Store
City to Review Retail Incentive Package
Tallassee Squirrel Revival
City Approves Retail Package for Patton Plaza
Landmark Mill Destroyed by Fire
Tallasseeans React to Mill Fire
Mill Owner Comments on Loss
Mill Fire Probe Continues
Mills Condemned
Goss Speaks About Condenmed Mills
Tallassee Police Release Video of "Vehicle of Interest"
IDB Looks to Add "Economic Development" Label
Hathcock Signs with JSU
Baynes Wraps Up First College Season
Graduates Celebrate Special Night
Best Pimento Cheese Derived from Local Recipe
Tallassee Relay This Weekend
CLP to Offer Fall Travel Ball
Tallassee Now! Full of Activities
Benjamin Fitzpatrick's Future
Whitaker "Top 100" Pick
O'Brien's Boys to Be Recognized
Carter Drafted by Cubs
Tallassee Adding Career Tech Program
Venable Was a Local Music Star
Kervin Announces Candidacy
Taylor Announces Mayoral Bid
McCain Announces Intent to Run Again
Bodenheimer to Run for Council
Patterson Announces Candidacy
Hill to Seek Council Seat
Rygiel Announces Candidacy for Reelection
Brewer to Run for School Board
Taunton Enters Council Race
Stough Seeks Council Seat Again
McDaniel Announces Run for School Board
Johnson Seeks Another Term
Scarborough School Board Ballot
Miller Announces Council Candidacy
McCaig Hopes to Continue on Board
City Holds Candidate Information Forum
City Discusses Jordanville Properties
Archery Popularity Grows
Shooting Suspects At Large
TES Preparing for School Year
New Kayak Service Planned
Council to File Declaratory Judgments Against Candidates
Hornsby Setting Up Alzheimer's Support Group
Two Tallassee Teams Play On
Candidates List Released, Payne Bows Out
TSC Resolves Towing Snafu
New Florist Opening in Tallassee
Tallassee's Hit Squad Wins World Series
Tiger Paw Changing Hands
Battles Previews Season
WTLS Reups with CTSN
Tallassee Girls World Series Runner-Up
Ready for Another School Year
It's Not Just Friday Nights
Volleyball Team Ready to Open Season
City's Case Against Kervin/Taylor Dismissed
Voters to Decide on Sunday Sales
Tallassee vs. Russell County Football 2016 Recap
Notasulga vs. Reeltown Football 2016 Recap
Baynes Among "Spotlight" Performers
Tallassee General Election Results
Hammock/McCain in Runoff
Tallassee vs. W.S. Neal Football 2016 Recap
Della's Delight
Sisters Reunited
Tallassee vs. Handley Football 2016 Recap
Trio Arrested in Drug Bust
Tomahawk Taken from Iconic Kowaliga
Tallassee vs. Childersburg Football 2016 Recap
17-Year-Old Charged with Murder
Tallassee vs. Munford Football 2016 Recap
Carter, Cochran-Gill Finish Seasons
TES Upgrades Coming
Tallassee vs. T.R. Football Football 2016 Recap
Runoff Next Tuesday
Hotel Talisi Arsonist Escapes
Carroll Recaptured in Washington State
Matthews Among "Spotlight" Performers
SMS Wins Back-to-Back Games
It's the Time of the Season
Two Races Still to Be Decided
Tallassee Runoff Election Results
Tallassee vs. Dadeville Football 2016 Recap
Thurlow Fire Not Serious
City Looks at Financial Status
Hammock New Mayor-Elect
Century Ride Saturday
Pride Superior Again
Tallassee vs. Holtville Football 2016 Recap
Junior Rebels Complete Solid Season
Tallassee vs. Leeds Football 2016 Recap

SMS Ends Season
MCAC Kicks Off Season with Patsy
Tallassee vs. Elmore County Football 2016 Recap
City Ordered to Pay Taylor's Legal Fees
Tallassee vs. Hale County Football 2016 Recap
New Council Sworn In, Appointments Made
Tallasseeans Turn Out for November Election
Cochran-Gill Recognized
Police Release Vehicle Photo in Bank Robbery
Fans Abuzz over Hometown Team
Tallassee vs. St. James Football 2016 Recap
Rodgers Steps Down
Bank Robber Captured
Schools Thankful for Week Off
Tallassee vs. Andalusia Football 2016 Recap
Wrestle "Mania" to Hit O'Brien Stadium
Hollinquest Pulling Double Duty
Hammock Talks about Riverfront Development
City Could Lose Precinct
Anderson Broke the Color Barrier
Grits Was One of the Tigers' Best
Young Tracksters Take on B'ham
Warehouse 51 Open for Events
Exchange Student Enjoying Transition
Meeting Loletha
Police Searching for Suspects in Robbery
Santa in the Window
Carter Back Home after Rookie Season
Nat Geo Doc Features Tallassee
Cochran-Gill vs. Tebow
Building Inspector Hired
Ansley Rising with the Tide
New Police Chief Named
Majorette Coach and More
Tallassee Fire Department 2016 Annual Report
Chamber Draws Large Turnout for Award Winning Night
Middle Schoolers Shine Again
Boatwright Purchases Another Store
THS Duo Sign with Faulkner
Vaught's New Strike Zone
Mat Cats Win It All

___________________________________________________________________________