News Sports Opinion Photos Social Classified Obits Contact
Past and current presidents Dustin Funderburk (left) and Logan Steers

Chamber presents annual awards

By Michael Butler

The achievements of some of Tallassee's hard-working entrepreneurs and volunteers were highlighted at the Annual Tallassee Chamber of Commerce Awards Night on Thursday at the 1220 Warehouse.

Corrie Sid accepted the Business of the Year Award for Grove Station. Bob and Pat Reed were the recipients of the Frances Wagnon Award. The President's Award was given to Jordan Cunningham. The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Gene Lawrence.

"The event was a huge success," Chamber director Jerry Cunningham said. "The board of directors did a great job in coordinating and organizing. Particular thank yous to Grove Station and 1220 Cafe for their efforts to make it a success. Thank you to Joey Wiginton for securing Matt Pressley, an auctioneer from Mobile."

The auction and the event itself were sellouts raising $10,000 for student scholarships.

"The live auction garnered $6,000 and the silent auction $4,000," Cunningham added. "The auction certainly wouldn’t have been a success without the many businesses and individuals who donated for the cause."

Making A Difference Awards were handed out to Cody Moore, HDD Broadband, Marilyn Sayers of A.C.T.S., Ellie Ray and Dawn Frisbey of LifeChoice Pregnancy Center.

*Photos by Kyle Thornton

Business of the Year - Grove Station
Noah Griggs, Corrie Sid, Logan Steers, Jerry Cunningham
Frances Wagnon Award
Pat Reed, Logan Steers, Bob Reed
President's Award
Jordan Cunningham, Logan Steers
Lifetime Achievement
Michael Bird, Gene Lawrence, Logan Steers, Jerry Cunningham