News Sports Opinion Photos Social Classified Obits Contact

Haynes, Baynes grab Sewell honors

Staff Report

Two Tallassee seniors received scholarships at the Joe Sewell Memorial Award and John Sewell Memorial Scholarship Banquet held at the Wetumpka Civic Center on Tuesday, May 3.

Belle Haynes was the overall winner among girls at the annual ceremony honoring athletes for Christian leadership. The award includes a $3,000 scholarship. Chloe Baynes received a $1,000 scholarship as the athletic category award recipient.

Haynes, who participates in softball, volleyball and track, attends Beulah Baptist Church. Baynes plays softball, volleyball and runs track. She is a member of First Baptist Church in Tallassee.

Other finalists from Tallassee were Woodrow Dean and Caleb Mason. The ninth grade certificate winners from Tallasseee were: Camden Mask, Bryson Rigsby, Alli Smith and Rush Wright.

*Photos courtesy of Chrietzberg Photography