News Sports Opinion Photos Social Classified Obits Contact

Candidate qualifying complete

By Michael Butler

The window has closed on qualifying for the upcoming municipal election in Tallassee. And, there will be several contested races.

The headliner, the mayor's race, has three candidates; incumbent Johnny Hammock, Danny Ingram and John Stonaker. Hammock is seeking a second term. Ingram previously served on the Tallassee Board of Education and was beat seeking reelection in 2016. Stonaker, who once served as Tallassee Building Inspector, is making his first run at public office.

"I think it's great," Hammock said. "A lot of people have fought and died for the right to run for office. I think more people ought to get interested in civic leadership in this town and run for school board, mayor and city council. Let the best man or woman win in these races that will best benefit our town. Ring the bell and come out swinging."

All but one of the council seats will be contested. Ward 5 councilman Terrel Brown is the only member of the council unopposed.

Ward 1 councilman Jeremy Taunton has opposition from Tommy Gresham. Ward 2 is a rematch from the 2016 election year with incumbent Sarah Hill and Matthew Miller. There are three candidates vying for the Ward 3 seat; incumbent Damian Carr, Jahazel Hooks and Willie Smith. In Ward 4, councilman Darrell Wilson is up against Bill Hall. Wilson beat Hall eight years ago in the 2012 election year. In Ward 6, councilman Bill Godwin is opposed by Michael Stough. Stough's father, David Stough, has opposition for his Ward 7 seat from Fred Randall Hughey. Hughey ran for mayor in 2012.

On the school board, Ward 6 representative Sandra Patterson is the only board member not seeking reelection. Four of the seven seats are up for grabs.

In Ward 2, school board president Don Bryant is opposed by Alisha Miller. In Ward 4, incumbent Ruthanne McCaig is contested by Jeff Branch. Ward 5 board member Rex Ledbetter is opposed by Melanie Goodman. The candidates in Ward 6 are Andy Coker and Heather Miller. Kami Scarborough in Ward 1, Sonja Moore in Ward 2 and Lacey Brewer in Ward 7 are unopposed.

The election will be on Tuesday, Aug. 25. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. - 7 p.m. Polling locations include; Tallaweka Baptist Church, God's Congregational Holiness Church and the Tallassee Community Library.

"The city does not set the polling locations. That is set by Elmore County Board of Registrars," Hammock said. "We've got masks for poll workers. We've got plexiglass shields that we have ordered. We've got sanitizers. We're getting ready. Hopefully we'll have a good election and a lot of people turn out. It's very important."

(I) John Hammock
Danny Ingram
John Stonaker
Tommy Gresham
(I) Jeremy Taunton
(I) Kami Scarborough
(I) Sarah Hill
Matthew Miller
(I) Michael "Don" Bryant
Alisha Miller
(I) Damian Carr
Jahazel Hooks
Willie Smith
(I) Sonja Moore
William M. Hall
(I) Darrell Wilson
Jeff Branch
(I) Ruthanne McCaig
(I) Terrel Brown
Melanie Goodman
(I) Donald Rex Ledbetter Jr.
(I) William C. Godwin
Michael Stough
Anderson "Andy" Coker
Heather Miller
Fred Randall Hughey
(I) David Stough
(I) Lacey Brewer