News Sports Opinion Photos Social Classified Obits Contact

Chamber hands out awards

By Leigh Anne Butler

The Tallassee Chamber of Commerce held its annual banquet on Thursday, Feb. 6 at the National Guard Armory.  Jerry Cunningham, Tallassee Chamber of Commerce Director noted, “The banquet this year was about recognizing and celebrating some of the area businesses and their accomplishments and successes.”

Guests enjoyed dinner catered by 1220 Café and were encouraged to participate in a silent auction.  Area businesses donated items for the auction and all of the proceeds benefited the Chamber of Commerce’s scholarship program.  This year the silent auction raised $2,850.

Cheryl Henderson will serve as president, Melinda Emfinger as first vice president, Dustin Funderburk as second vice president and Anna Rogers as secretary/treasurer. 

Members of the board of directors were also announced and included Vicki Baker, Brad Mason, Derek Gentle, Kim Stackhouse, David Butler, Cory Eckstein, Whitney Watson, Kim Hammock, Jennifer Crain and Wendy Clayton.

Henderson presented the President’s Award to L.D. Bell for his active involvement with Tallassee youth.

The Frances H. Wagnon Award volunteer award was presented to Brad Davis for his active involvement in the Tallassee community through his work with the Tallassee Community Development Corporation (CDC).

Studio B Dance Center was awarded the Business of the Year Award.  Brooke Rigsby has owned and operated the dance center for 16 years.

A new award, the Chamber Lifetime Award, was added this year.  Lamar Godwin was honored as its first recipient. 

The Chamber recognized 23 Gold Members for having 40 or more years involvement with the Chamber of Commerce and included Alabama Power Company (1965), Brantley Signs (1960), Community Hospital (1965), Godwin’s Flowers (1971), Hornsby and Son Body Shop (1967), Hughey Communications (1979),  J Alan Taunton & Company (1975), Jeffcoat Funeral Home (1970), Mason Rentals/Mason Tire (1955), Neptune Technology Group (1972), Parker Wholesale Cars (1979), Sizemore & Sizemore (1949), SWAT (1977), Tallassee Automotive (1976), Tallassee City Board of Education (1950), Tallassee Jewelry & Gifts (1917), Tallassee Super Foods (1967), Tallassee Tribune (1963), The Apothecary (1973), Trustmark (1950), Vicki Oliver Baker (1961), and WTLS (1954).

Another new recognition for this year was the Making a Difference Award presented to Rob Dinsmore with Operation Combat Bikesaver, the Community Development Corporation and the Talisi Historical Society.
The Chamber of Commerce Student Ambassadors were also recognized and included Sinclair Cole, Natalie Davis, Bruin Hathcock, Meredith Hill, AJ Miller, Lindan Oliver, Anslee Osborne, Sally Shipman and Christopher Thompson.

Tallassee Chamber of Commerce award winners (left to right): Brad Davis (Francis Wagnon Award), Brooke Rigsby (Business of the Year), Lamar Godwin (Lifetime Achievement), executive director Jerry Cunningham.