News Sports Opinion Photos Social Classified Obits Contact
 
 
 

Opinions...

Comments to the Tallassee Times

 

Makes me sick (7-26-11)

Woke up this morning to go to WORK and noticed that someone had broken into my truck….in MY front yard……UNDER THE STREET LIGHT…… Got my speakers amp and guns. audacity or stupidity I don’t know….but if they have an ounce of sense in there little head they better not come back or I will fill their head with something else. With that said….thank you tallasse police dept. for responding quickly….yes…I thanked the police dept. You know it makes me feel good to know that I work and buy things for myself and my family so others can take it. Get a JOB and buy your own stuff…….UGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH - Eric spates


From the Hill (7-26-11)

Ray , You are using this senseless killing in Norway to further your hate agenda against the Muslims.
What I read on AOL is the right wing American news media is the one playing up the Muslim angle to this killing. AOL compared it to blaming the Beatles for the Manson murders.
The shooter is an insane right wing Christian , who killed Christian children.
You and your news sources felt the need to use this horrible tradgedy as a means to further fan the flames of hate towards people of another faith .
You consider yourself a Christian . Christians are suppose to follow Christ's examples . Do you think Our Lord would exploit something like this to encourage hate against another ? - Glenn Dean

_________

From the Hill (7-26-11)

Glenn,
Ray started by calling the guy an idiot and ended by saying "But no one's faith should cause them to resort to the slaughter occurring north of Oslo this past week."  You get your news from AOL?  Really??
99.999999999% of all Christians worldwide would condemn this act of terror I would be willing to bet my life on that.  Yet on September the 11th 2001 I saw on live TV millions of people who just happened to be muslims, celebrating in the streets all over the mid east burning American flags and carrying signs that said death to the USA. 
And why is it that a sunni muslim can blow up himself with a car bomb killing himself along with a hundred other shite muslims and AOL might have it as a small side story, yet when one stupid self proclaimed Christian commits an act of terror it is front page for weeks.
Your argument about your mamma and the clan held more water than this, and it just makes you look like the real idiot.
Come on people if you are a Christian stand up and denounce this act of terror so we can show Glenn that there is a difference - D J Elmore

_________

From the Hill (7-26-11)

As usual , DJ , your feeble mind missed the whole point of my posting !                                                               

I was writing about the fact that there wasn't any Islam connection to this shooting except in the imaginations of right wing news media !

I read the Montgomery Advertiser , daily , watch MSNBC and CNN , listen to NPR/APR/GPR , and read the internet news . I read/heard the story of the tragedy , but hadn't heard of any 'Islam Connection' until Ray's column . I then researched via internet . There it said only a vivid right wing imagination could blame Islam. True to form , Ray had picked up on this and used it to fan the flames of hate , like He does so well , good Christian that He is.

Lots of people hate America , not just the Muslims ! That's why there is one rare item Ray and I agree on , cutting off foreign aid , except to a select few countries.

Unlike you and Ray , I consider several news sources , before I reach an opinion on a topic. You two only depend on Fox news , and whatever they say is "gospel truth !" No matter that they have won an award for most lies told , two years in a row from Politic Fact Check !

 As far as the story of my Mother and the Klan . My Mother would have died that day rather than betray Her Faith  !  Something you wouldn't understand , because I doubt you have ever stood up for anything unless everybody else was standing up . You have never had an original thought in your life , and if you ever did , you would keep it to yourself for fear of ridicule. I am sure you have spent your life as a "Good Ole White Boy" going along with whatever the crowd says. You can not understand what my Mother did , standing up to the Preachers/Klan , because if ever your religious faith was put to the test , you would crumble in a heartbeat , shallow as your faith is - Glenn Dean


Riverfront Development (7-26-11)

How about a nice water mill theme restaurant with a water wheel turning and some rapids in view of the diners, with lots of rock work and greenery creating some privacy for some of the tables? - Ray Hall

_________

Riverfront Development (7-26-11)

To Ray Hall. One thing you can say about the Riverfront is it ALREADY has an abundance of rock work and greenery. The kudzu and the cemetery have grown exponentially in the last half century. Who says this town is dead??  Well, what can one expect from non-believers.....this means YOU Rhett Dennis
 
On a different note, Things on the "other" side of the River ( East Tallassee ) are cleaning up quite nicely. The mill houses are being cleaned up and restored. The City Hall/Library Quad is in my opinion, is the most beautiful spot in town. The yards are being maintained and beautified, A dollar general has been built, A new CLEAN grocery store with check out line equipment that is in good working order. and friendly employees to boot, unlike the Winn Dixie. One would think the check out lines and cooler/ freezer units would have been replaced since 1977. Never mind that most of their employees seemed unconcerned and or oblivious to returning items that were spoiled and/or sold beyond their shelf life. It's the few rude ones that bother me the most. Especially when you try to extend politeness. I will no longer do business there.
 
Gilmer Avenue needs to be razed to the ground and started from scratch......or perhaps even bypassed. It cannot continue to function as a major thoroughfare. Combine the antiquated 4 lane highway with the hodgepodge of residential zoning intertwined within business zoning, mailboxes, temporary signage, power poles and even landscaping blocking site lines from virtually every curb cut along the highway. Not to mention during football season, when Highway 229 turns into "Tiger Walk". It just doesn't work anymore....just ask the 35 MPH speed linit.
 
I will say however the people that run the Cozumel Restaurant have outstanding service and table fare. It is by far the most friendly and hospitable  establishment in town. I also like what Ann Street Cafe does with their menu items.
 
And Ray, you've done a nice job with your place along Stone Creek. See you next time I'm thru there.
 
And too, the eyesore at the foot Mill Hill looks like pure you know what, so don't rest on your laurels East Tallassee. Keep up the good work. Lets also hope that one day all the ball parks are moved from behind Mom's house, Its one thing to play ball, tailgate and have parents screaming and cussing 7 days and nights until 11 pm, but the back yard view of the butt end of the concession stand is cruel and unusual.
 
Sorry Ray, you caught me on a bad day.....
 
Bobby Dennis

Council Square (7-26-11)

Am I mistaken or was the new speed limit on Gilmer and ALDOT  decision and the city government had nothing to do with that? Did I miss something? - Derrick Hartley


Alumni weekend a hit (7-26-11)

I enjoyed getting to see so many of the former players at the alumni weekend.  We've all put on a few pounds (some more than others) but you could see why Tallassee had such a successful run over a 15 year period.  Thanks to Jon Stonaker and Tony Garnett for participating.  Otherwise I would have been the oldest one out there.  A special thanks to Marilyn Speake for helping organize the weekend.  We've been fortunate to have a lot of great volunteers over the years but Marilyn is as big of an asset to the program as I've ever seen.  Hopefully adding a golf tournament will entice more of the "old guard" to come back and participate next year - Mark Segrest

_________

Alumni weekend a hit (7-26-11)

I want to reiterate what Mark said about the weekend.  Great job to all that helped organize the event.  It was great to see everyone and get a chance to do something that I haven't done in years.  It was a great time of fellowship and fun and I look forward to participating in future events that are planned.  There were a good many of us from the 1998 state championship team, which was the last that Tallassee won.  Being down there this weekend, I was reminded of how dominant Tallassee Baseball once was.  In 12 years Tallassee won 7 state championships.  Looking forward to next year! - Abe Rigsby


Is there anything he can't do (7-19-11)

I very much enjoyed reading this article.  I loved music day when I was in school.  I just couldn't wait for Mr. Bush to get there.  What a great man - Amy Wood

_________

Is there anything he can't do (7-19-11)

I think James Bush is a Sweet Christian man. It is always a joy to see and talk to him. He makes the little ones so happy when he is around. He sang a beautiful song at my Mom's funeral. I love to watch the pupets and I like to hear him play the banjo and talk to Chester. I hope someday my Grandbabies get to hear him - Harriet McNelley

_________

Is there anything he can't do (7-19-11)

James Bush has been blessed with many gifts!  I am thankful he is so willing to share those gifts with those around him.  Especially his beautiful voice.  If I had been his agent, he would have been on broadway with his musical talent. But I am certain that many children would have missed out on experiencing a better day without the presence of Chester, music, puppets or a balloon if he had found a life on broadway.  And CW would not have a great buddy! He is an incredibly talented man with a willingness and desire to share his gifts and he has an amazing wife to support all of his endeavors! Makes me proud to be their little girl.  Thanks for the story! - Melody Bush Jones

_________

Is there anything he can't do (7-19-11)

James is truly one of a kind. It was a joy working with him for ten years.The Lord has blessed him with many talents and gifts. He uses all to the glory of the Lord. Keep up the good work Mr. Bush - Don Stephens

_________

Is there anything he can't do (7-19-11)

Mr. Bush aka “Banjo” is a true Christian man and you could not ask for a better friend. Not only is a great music minister , he also makes a great clown. We joined forces several years ago and have been doing birthday parties together  ever since. Thanks  James for all the happiness that you give to each and every one of us that have been lucky enough to know you - Irene  aka “Sparkles”


City looks into deeding properties (7-19-11)

i agree 100%. if the city can lease or sell these properties, go for it - rhett dennis


Alumni game (7-19-11)

As Whatley Drive was one of Coach Baynes' favorite streets in town, are there enough players just from that street to field a team and if so, how would they fare?  My fellow alumni might recall one of Coach's famous quotes about Whatley Drive - Jason Cleghorn


Jackson Gantt (7-12-11)

Way to go Jackson. I knew that all that practice with your dad in your front yard would pay off. I believe you have a bright future in whatever sport you want to pursue. Keep up the hard work. I know that bubba Joseph will follow in your footsteps. Your former neighbor writing from Cotacachi, Ecuador - Mr. Sayers

_________

Jackson Gantt (7-12-11)

Way to go Jackson!!! We are so very proud of you! - Brett Pierce


Question (7-12-11)

Who owns all of the lake side property on Lake Tallassee? Is most of it privately owned, or Ala Power, or does the city own any of it?? - D J Elmore


From the Hill (7-12-11)

LOVE the "Quote of the Week." Maybe the one who has the authority to right a wrong hire within our school system will take note. We send our children to be under the watch of these administrators and all are not worthy of their position.

It is shameful the way things are not addressed when all know that there is a problem. Fix it, it's the easiest thing to do. People will understand when given the facts and an opportunity - The Truth


Divers in sports festival (7-12-11)

All the boys did a great job and I wish them good luck at District which takes place in Auburn July 14, 2011 - Michele Gioiosa


Dorley in 17th year of radio ministry (7-12-11)

I   sure  am  gald  that  I  was  a  small  part  of  that  for  a  while.  WE  had  some  great  times  down  there  early  in  the  mornings.  Keep  up  the  good  work - Noel Darnell

_________

Dorley in 17th year of radio ministry (7-12-11)

I have just started listening to Bro Rick while I get ready to go to work and really enjoy all that I have heard.  He has devotional, prayer requests, music and covers a lot of other just general.  He seems to have an humble heart for God and to sincerely care about the lost souls.  I do pray he continues - Jim Alice Cullars


Council Square (7-12-11)

When reporting Council business, it would be helpful to briefly explain what certain Council actions entail.  For example: What speed limits did the passed resolution set for Gilmer Avenue?  And what public nuisances were cites in the ordinance for the three streets in town, and how would the ordinance curtail them? I appreciate Mrs. Johnson\'s reporting efforts, but a few more small details would be beneficial to the reader - W. C. Bryant

_________

Council Square (7-12-11)

Councilmember Johnson asked that the Department of Public Safety look again at speed control measures that can be taken along Camellia Drive prior to the start of school.  This road is frequently used for cutting through Emfinger subdivision to avoid traffic on Gilmer Avenue.  The volume of traffic through the neighborhood is often more than one would expect for normal residential traffic and this seems to further increase with the start of school each year.  Other Council members expressed concern over speeding in various residential neighborhoods in Tallassee.

Whatley Drive is frequently used for cutting through Emfinger subdivision to avoid traffic on Gilmer Avenue and get to Shopping Center. I also read in the Tallassee Tribune that Councilmember Johnson wants to place speed humps in Emfinger subdivision to slow traffic. Been done before and had to remove. I live in Emfinger subdivision on Whatley Drive and all we need is the speed limit set and then write tickets.  I do not want any speed humps on Whatley Drive put them some where else but leave my street alone.

Councilmember Johnson also did not speak of the folks going to Community Hospital and Doctor's office that use the 2 streets to avoid Gilmer Avenue, and the emergency vehicles the cut thru as well as city vehicle, trucks, lawn mowers, front end loaders, dump trucks.

It is just human nature to take short cuts.  I do not fault anyone for using Camellia and Whatley to get where they want to go.  Just set the speed limit, post it and write tickets. You can pay the first ticket and if you get another within 3 years in any residental neighborhood in Tallassee then you must do community service at minimum wage until the cost of the ticket is paid - Donald Ray Hornsby

_________

Council Square (7-12-11)

Donald is 100% correct on not needing the speed humps.  There shouldn’t be a need for them anyway, if the police would patrol these areas. They are more than welcome to sit in my yard anytime they want to!!!! I have lived on whatley dr for 12 years and the speeding does seem to get worse as time goes on. Last night I took Golden dr. home from friendship road and there is a 30 mph sign at the top of the BLIND hill on golden dr. Are you kidding!!!!so I guess the state department of transportation put that sign there also. People this is only 5 mph slower than the 4 lane in a neighborhood full of children that have no place to ride their bikes but on these streets. How many other streets in other neighborhoods in Tallassee are 30 mph? are there any in Noble? Claire wood? So if you are traveling down Whatley dr. and hear someone scream at you I am not saying hello….!! - Eric Spates

_________

Council Square (7-12-11)

I agree on the speeding problem in Emfinger. I have lived on Camellia for 4 years. I have personally witnessed someone come down the hill on Camellia so fast that the car spun completely around in front of me as I was about to turn into my driveway. I have also had my mailbox hit and someone drive through my yard a few times as well. They are coming down the hill too fast and can't make the curve. I have 2 children also and worry every time they are outside that they might get hit by a car IN OUR YARD. There are a lot of kids in this neighborhood. I would love to see this area patrolled more - Dawn Ward

_________

Council Square (7-12-11)

(Councilmember Johnson asked that the Department of Public Safety look again at speed control measures that can be taken along Camellia Drive prior to the start of school. This road is frequently used for cutting through Emfinger subdivision to avoid traffic on Gilmer Avenue. The volume of traffic through the neighborhood is often more than one would expect for normal residential traffic and this seems to further increase with the start of school each year. Other Council members expressed concern over speeding in various residential neighborhoods in Tallassee)

Camellia Drive should be a dead end where it now joins County Road 8/Friendship Road.  This would eliminate cutting through Emfinger subdivision to avoid traffic on Gilmer Avenue. 

- Donald Ray Hornsby

_________

Council Square (7-12-11)

I have a 10 year old son who rides his bike and plays around the neighborhood with 9 other kids from age 8 to 13. These children expect the adults (or people with a license) to obey traffic laws and to STOP at stop signs. The sign on the corner of Godwin and Whatley is useless. on any give day you can sit on my porch and watch 20 ADULTS run this stop sign. most slow down a bit but some actually speed up. What's going to happen when a child is on his bike and he knows cars are suppose to stop so he goes through the stops sign? I would love to see speed humps put in where the signs are. Maybe that would make the people leaving the Football field, Super foods or any other store on Gilmer use Friendship road and not our neighborhood. I know that if it were their neighborhood that this was going on in they would not stand for it and we shouldn't either. If you must use this neighborhood to pass through have enough self control to do the speed limit, which is too fast and to stop at the posted stop signs.


Turn Signals (7-5-11)

Is there a sign in Tallassee that says always drive in the left lane and turn signals are not required ? Are we all supposed to be mind readers and know where everyone is turning? - S. Atkins


Eateries in Tallassee (7-5-11)

This week's Tallassee Tribune published an article about the need for "meat and three" eateries in Tallassee. I found some of the statements made by Greater Tallassee Area Chamber of Commerce Executive Director Jeanna Kervin rather astonishing.

First, I'm not quite sure that Ms. Kervin, or any of our other city leaders, actually knows what the citizens of Tallassee truly desire in regard to restaurant and grocery options. As a veteran journalist and academic researcher, my question is this: where is the data? Comments, inquiries, and complaints can be defined as merely "anecdotal data" and have nothing to do with provable facts. I suggest that the Chamber do a scientifically valid survey of "greater Tallassee" residents in order to better define the community's true needs and desires. There are many resources available through the Alabama Department of Public Health, The Alabama Cooperative Extension Service, and Auburn University for performing such studies practically free of charge. Focus groups, community meetings, and telephone, web-based, and mailed surveys are valid sources of information that potential business owners would love to see.
 
These issues are particularly meaningful in light of yesterday's news that Alabama is second only to Mississippi in adult obesity rates. Tallassee is not exempt from these figures. Many of our citizens are elderly and have specific dietary needs that cannot be met easily by chain restaurants of typical "meat and threes." Others, like myself, are in mid-life and want to make changes now to ensure that we are healthy in our later lives. Many parents are concerned that their children are going to be not the "greatest generation" but the "fattest generation." These people are a significant market for new businesses and some of them are spending a great deal of money shopping in surrounding communities.
 
In my opinion, Tallassee needs options and change, not just tradition and bad habits. Traditional "meat and three" meals are unbelievably unhealthy in most establishments, highly caloric, meat-heavy, and as filled with sodium and fat as the worst of fast-food restaurants or pizza joints. All communities in Alabama need two things:  (1) grocery stores offering affordable, convenient sources of fresh, local produce, a variety of lean meats and seafood, and processed food options that are both low-fat and low-sodium and (2) restaurants that prepare and promote healthy eating options in a wide range of prices. Why aren't the Chamber and the City leaders working to provide incentives for investors and entrepreneurs who will bring not just dollars but options to our city? Why isn't health a top priority?
 
I was also disturbed by Kervin's implied opinion that Tallassee could not support a fine-dining establishment. We have many citizens with the means to travel to Auburn, Montgomery, or even Birmingham to dine well. Those dollars are supporting other communities and could stay right here if we could stop thinking so small. Additionally, we are fantastically positioned to capitalize on our geography in attracting interstate travelers, Auburn visitors, lake residents, and others who have the means and time to travel to a "quaint" little town and eat a big-city quality meal.
 
The eventual resurrection of the Hotel Talisi will restore stability, income, jobs, and tradition to our city. However, it cannot be the only factor in the growth and change that must occur for Tallassee to prosper in the coming decades. Economic, social, and cultural diversity are the keys to community success in the 21st Century, and our food choices and eating habits are one of the most significant indicators of how well we are achieving that success. Let's not be the little city on the river where you can kill yourself with fatty food in several dozen mediocre ways. Let's find some ways to expand our vision and contract our waistlines.
 
- Jackie Solomon Payne

_________

Eateries in Tallassee (7-5-11)

Mr Payne,
Since you seem to have all of the answers about what Tallassee needs to have a good restuarant, I think you should open one.
And I promise if you can cook a good steak, and serve it with a good glass of wine, I will see you more than once a week.  I am so sick of having to drive to Auburn for a decent meal, and Montgomery is out of the question.
Shop Tallassee First, what a joke - D J Elmore

_________

Eateries in Tallassee (7-5-11)

i agree with you 100% mr. elmore - sandy phillips

_________

Eateries in Tallassee (7-5-11)

DJ , if someone served you a "good" glass of wine , you would add sugar and ice cubes to it !

I would like to see a seafood restaurant open in Tallassee . By seafood , I mean something more than  fried catfish and fried shrimp .  But , I doubt that it would ever happen . Why would anyone invest their money in a business in a town whose population is declining ?  Gilmer Avenue is full of empty store fronts and one mostly empty , modern strip mall .

Tallassee , as a whole , both leaders and people , must figure out why people are moving away , and why people chose not to live here .

Tallassee has so much to offer , yet nobody wants it ! People will work in the industries that Tallassee has , but choose to live someplace else.

If ever Tallassee figures out the answer and turns the town around , then and only then will it start getting restaurants and all the other nice things that come with being a GROWING Town ! - Glenn Dean

_________

Eateries in Tallassee (7-5-11)

I had a wonderful filet that I grilled myself last night and a really good glass of Sonoma County Zinfandel, not white zinfandel, but true old vine Sonoma County Liars Dice Zinfandel. 

Hey Glenn was that MD 20/20 good with your bologna sandwich?? - D J Elmore

_________

Eateries in Tallassee (7-5-11)

Yes it was DJ ,

I raised my glass of Mad Dog in a toast to my Red Neck Buddies who are :

Still Fighting the Civil War

Hating   someone because they have different Religious Beliefs , but are still professing to be  "GOOD" Christians .

Resistant to any kind of change  or new ideas , what so ever

Wondering why their little town is dying !

Cheers ! - Glenn Dean


Shame on the Montgomery Advertiser's Ken Hare (7-5-11)

In last Sunday's editorial entitled "Repugnant practic," he never mentions the fact the disclosure of "referral fees" from lobbyists to legislators was made possible through investigations by the defense in the so-called gambling corruption trial. These investigative technigques are something we never see in corporate America run newspapers and are only performed by Hare when he sees the benefit of bashing Democrats, gambling and blacks or writing a pro Riley - Hubbard editorial. Hare's long running biased reporting is what is an even more "Repugnant practice" than Barry Mask disgusting work ethic. Maybe one day the Gannett Company and Hare's superiors will recognize this bias reporting and remedy the atrocity.

Every voter in the district of Barry Mask should consider the overwhelming loss of confidence and integrity which Mask exhibited during the trial and send a clear message in the next election that his services are no longer desired in representing Alabama constituents.

Sincerley,

Luke P. Quinn - Opelika


I have a question (7-5-11)

I don't know the exact year that the fort playground in Carville was finished, but I remember buying a brick to go out front with two little girls names on it. I think they were $50. I went over there shortly after it opened and looked and looked and finally found the brick. Well its' been awhile and I got the urge this morning on my way home from work to stop and take a look at it again, but could not find it. In fact it all kinda looks different from what I remember, but then its been awhile. Can anyone tell me if they changed it or did away with the bricks and started over later or something? I KNOW I paid for a brick and I KNOW it was there, but now it isn't so I was just wondering.

Thanks

A Childers


Riverfront Development (7-5-11)

I posted on 6-14-11 about Dam removal and development of the riverfront in Tallassee.  I received lots of private emails and most were legitimate enquiries for more information.  Only one email was negative.  Many people wanted to know what I thought about just the development of the River from Thurlow down to the boat ramp below the last fall line and if I thought people would come to raft that section of the river.  The only thing I could do would be give you my opinion based on 25 years of paddling canoes, rafts and kayaks.  As a rafter, a longer rafting trip is always better.  If I as a rafter have the choice of 1 hour of fun and excitement on a river or 3 hours of fun and excitement on a river, I would choose 3 hours.  Canoeing and kayaking is different.  It all depends of what we are looking for.  More money is obviously generated from public rafting companies than from private boaters.

I will compare the Tallapoosa to the Ocoee because they both have class III-IV whitewater though the Ocoee has more rapids. In speaking to an owner of a rafting company this weekend on the Ocoee River, he stated they ran all of his 28 boats which carry 6 customers each down the middle section of the Ocoee on Friday.  The middle Ocoee is 5 miles and the upper Ocoee is shorter but has larger rapids. I will just address the rafts he had on the middle section. Each customer pays $53.00 for the middle section raft trip. (the upper/middle combo cost $109.00 per customer) They ran all 28 boats down the river 3 times for a total of $26,712.00 just on the middle section for one day.  I also learned that over 300,000 people rafted the Ocoee River last year. Over $15 million was paid by customers just to rafting companies for rafting last year.  That does not include lodging, restaurants, fuel, souvenirs, firewood being purchased for campfires etc.

I have provided several links below which address the Nantahala River which had over 200,000 paddlers last year and the new development on the Chattahoochee in Columbus, Ga. Take a look and wish Tallassee the best of luck with its endeavors. 

http://mclaughlinwhitewater.com/

http://mclaughlinwhitewater.com/news/columbus-ga-river-restoration-roi/

http://www.smokymountainnews.com/news/item/4209-gorge-gets-a-boost-with-new-wave-feature

http://www.saw.usace.army.mil/wetlands/Notices/2011/201100907.pdf

http://www.wlos.com/shared/newsroom/top_stories/videos/wlos_vid_4739.shtml

http://www.smokymountainnews.com/news/item/3120-jockeying-for-space-on-the-nantahala-outfitters-and-summer-camps-spar-over-control-of-river-traffic

- Michael Strickland

_________

Riverfront Development (7-5-11)

comparing thurlow dam to the low head dams on the chattahoochee is not a good comparison. thurlow is part of a 4 hydroelectric dam system that can generate the same water 4 times, making it one of the more efficient systems around. the dams in columbus weren't good for much more than operating the mills the dams were attached to. you will have a fight on your hands from the land owners of the thurlow resivoir if you try to blast the dam. honestly, the lake is much more an asset to tallassee than you may know.

as a paddler, i would love to see the whole tallapoosa running free of obstructions, but i am a realist. as a professional raft guide, the tallapoosa would be fun for about 15-20 minutes. you would have about 1 hour involved with check in, gear fitting, video instruction and shuttle to the put in. if, and that is dreaming, thurlow dam was blasted, i know very few guides who could negotiate the section of falls at the current dam successfully that would be willing to live in this area. paddlers want to paddle and little river canyon is the next closest river and it seldom has water.
 
the coosa club has not talked about the tallapoosa river very much because of the danger to novice and intermediate paddlers. we have considered using the tallapoosa, as an alternative to the coosa, for the whitewater festival before. we were not going to advertise the event being moved there for fear of unqualified boaters going there too. as far as experienced boaters go, the tallapoosa is no secret.

if central alabama had anything else for paddlers to do, more would come. a native american museum, motel, walking bridge, ampitheater and outlet stores will not attract boaters. bars and more rivers is what paddlers want and that is something tallassee will never have.

i have been very vocal in my opposition to the city spending millions we don't have on this riverfront development. if it was such a great idea, developers would be lining up to foot the entire bill, including infrastructure. tallassee is notorious for buying condemned/useless property or being the recipient of buildings that will cost more to tear down, or remodel, than they are worth. if i ever buy a building in tallassee to salvage materials from, i will give the raped shell to the city to avoid having to clean up the remaining mess. they might even buy it from me if i promise kickbacks to a few politicians.

- rhett dennis
former raft guide @ the NOC
former president of CRPC

_________

Riverfront Development (7-5-11)

Clarification for Mr. Rhett Dennis -

Alabama does not just have Little River Canyon as a destination for whitewater.  Alabama has close to a hundred Whitewater Rivers and streams which can be paddled by people in canoes, rafts and kayaks.  A short listing of some of the rivers and streams can be found at:  http://americanwhitewater.org/content/River/state-summary/state/AL/ or

http://www.alabamawhitewater.com/ and clicking on the “guide” tab. 

Little River Canyon is only 1 of those bodies of water.  Little River Canyon (LRC) flows in normal years from early December to mid May.  However, in 2009 we were able to paddle it starting in mid June 2009.

- Michael Strickland

________

Riverfront Development (7-5-11)

mr strickland, i am well aware of the rivers in alabama and have paddled most rivers and creeks in this area. spare me your alabama river knowledge, i read john foshee's book too. my refrence to whitewater in this area was for people who guide for a living. if paddlers have a choice, they prefer to live close to good rivers. most guides don't sit in a office all week and come out on the weekends, like you do, to get their feet wet. it's a way of life for them. the tallapoosa is the only good river around and it's a very short run and mostly good for play boating. i realize some local boaters, and especially coosa river boaters, like to sit in one spot and surf all day, but most boaters like to run rivers longer than a half mile.

let's go back to your original post about taking thurlow dam out for commercial boating. consider the cost of demolition of the dam and power plant to alabama power, not to mention the lost revenue from not being able to generate power at thurlow. let's also talk about rebuilding the intake structure for the municipal water filtration plant. this could cost the city millions of dollars and the city does not even have the money to purchase an emergency generator for the filter plant mandated by ADEM. your comments are not well thought out and are blindly informed, at best.

maybe someone from the city, or the development/investment company, has contacted you to give your two cents worth, and maybe not. and again, i would love to see a three mile stretch of class III-V whitewater, but you are only dreaming. in a world of diminishing power sources and limited fossil fuels, clean hydroelectric power is here to stay - rhett dennis

________

Riverfront Development (7-5-11)

Mr. Strickland, you have quite an uphill battle before you my friend. You see, the people of Tallassee (for the most part) are an extremely archaic minded people. They are very happy seeing nothing come into Tallassee and nothing go out.

_________

Riverfront Development (7-5-11)

Simpler Times.....when Whitewater Rafting was something one saw on ABC's Wide World of Sports on the Colorado River, and Cliff Diving from Acapulco. Heck, we just chunked an inner tube off  the Mill bridge and jumped in behind it and floated through the Gar Hole and Second Slough to the Big Eddy.

We also stupidly dived from the rock into the Pot Hole below Thurlow Dam. It never crossed ones mind that one day someone would consider a price of admission for such activities. Heck, fishing used to be affordable.
 
Now we have Developers, Lawyers, Politicians and Paddle Enthusiasts chiming in. As for our local paddle enthusiast (Rhett) I am partly to blame. For he has never been the same since I took him on his first (and ill- advised/fated) whitewater trip down Stone Creek in January 1989.
 
Hey, I have an idea.....what about Stone Creek Outfitters ???.....we don't have to destroy the Lake and Dam !!!!......Man, I'm kicking myself fore not thinking of this 20 years ago :/
 
Oh well...think I'll  dig some worms and go fishing....well on second thought perhaps I need to wait for the clearance sale on Bass boats at the Bass Pro Shop.
 
- Bobby Dennis

_________

Riverfront Development (7-5-11)

I started canoeing/boating  Alabama's bountiful waterways way back in the 1970s . I have been a member of CRPC since close to its beginning .

As a property owner in Tallassee , I would love to see our river front made into something beautiful and profitable . As time goes on I am becoming less and less confident that ANYTHING is going to happen .
Tallassee resists change .
 
This town sits between Montgomery and Auburn . It could become a suburb of both cities . It sits right in the middle of the Hyundai / KIA corridor . It could become a suburb to the automotive industry . The Mayors of the town have landed a few automotive suppliers . The employees of these industries choose to live elsewhere .  
 
A while back our Mayor proposed a small hiking trail starting at the park . I wrote in , in favor of it and very many wrote in against it . As one writer put it , Why not use the money for something people will use . It seems the People of Tallassee really aren't interested in anything they have to do, such as walking , biking , or canoeing  , they seem to like sports that you watch. This is evident by the tonnage you see around the town.
 
As a kayaker / boater , I hope nobody would ever consider tearing down a dam that is producing clean energy , just to make more whitewater , there are so many other things Tallassee can do . Restoring the old bridge , a trail along the rivers edge for kayakers to get back upriver , a developed takeout under the #229 bridge for leisure paddlers , Bicycle and hiking trails , and Yes, some nice bars for a drink afterwards.
 
Tallassee is full of potential !
But its going to end up as yet another dead town , if something isn't done to stop the population decline - Glenn Dean

My Opinion (7-5-11)

Several things are currently on my mind:

The speed limit on Gilmer is still an issue: 35 is too slow! My ice cream will melt in my car before I can even make it home. If this speed limit is being enforced—why didn’t they enforce the speed limit at 45?! I would still like to see the Accident reports that show speeding was the cause: "Of the approximate 300 annual traffic accidents in Tallassee, roughly half occur on the Gilmer Avenue corridor."

I know the town is big on “Shop Tallassee First”---I would if they had what I needed! The tax holiday is not going to do me any good because I can’t buy what I need in Tallassee. I drive to Wetumpka, Montgomery or Auburn. It’s sad but true.

The Street Dance: This is one night in town where you can openly drink (if you choose to do so!) in front of officers and the actual police station and get in your car and drive home…never has made much sense to me! Where are the “townspeople” with their pitchforks and torches protesting this open container? I guess it is all about sponsors. I quit going because it is the same bands every year- Let’s try some diversity.   Why not have a Band competition and bring in new acts? And..why not wait until it is cooler weather? It can be the Sweet Fall Nights!

Riverfront Development- yes I would like to see many things happen, but this town does not like change and they will not allow new businesses to come in to this town.  Allow may not be the right word but I have lived here my whole life and if it is something that is popular with the younger crowd and will bring in revenue—the “townspeople” will fight tooth and nail so the business will not come in.  Tallassee is the town that Time forgot!  We have to move forward and make CHANGES!!!  We can’t live in the “good ol’ days” and expect our town to grow.

These are just my opinions-you can agree or disagree!

Thanks Tallassee Times-your page keeps me up to date on many issues!

- Kelli S. Burt

________

My Opinion (7-5-11)

Reference to Kelli Burt's Opinion:
 
I agree with Kelli 100% on everything, but one subject gets to me more than the others. Tallassee talks about wanting change, but there are no actions to back it up. It's sad because there is so much potential in this town, but there are so many people not willing to make the changes necessary to bring in the businesses. Therefore, everyone continues to go out of town to shop, eat and to have some entertainment. Every attractive and successful town has a historic district, as well as newer places to accomodate everyone, not just the older generation. Tallassee can keep it's hometown charm while growing to fit family's needs, but we're standing in our own way. I love Tallassee for the people that live here, and I'm proud to have grown up here. However, If everything we needed were in Tallassee, I would be glad to "Shop Tallassee First", but it's not, so we're forced to go elsewhere. This statement has been said so much in the past. Kindof sounds like a broken record, doesn't it? The solution seems so simple, yet nothing ever happens. Maybe one day...........
 
- Katrina Studdard

________

My Opinion (7-5-11)

I totally agree with Kelli and Rhett 100%.

If there is anyone that knows about the Tallapoosa River it is Rhett. He has been down it a lot more times than I have plus, he was a professional raft guide at Nantahala River.

Kelli was right about the speed limit, 35 is way too slow. It is my understanding that Tallassee had nothing to do with the changing of the speed. It was all ALDOT. Well, I truly think that if the Cops enforced the 45 speed limit like they should have that it would have never been changed to 35. So now they say that the 35 limit will be enforced. LOL Good Luck with that.

Now, about this Street Dance. LOL…. I have been Boycotting this for the past 4 years and will keep on doing so until they change the line up and the location. I thought that I heard a rumor about it being over at the City Hall this year but I guess that was just a rumor after all. Anything that makes since in this town, They do right the opposite!!!! What is wrong with getting some Bands in here for people under 50? Who picks the bands? How much money do they have to spend? Where are they looking for bands at? Do they have rules, guidelines or what? Let us know. Come on people!!!!!!!!!!!!! It has been the same 4 or 5 bands for the past 16 YEARS… Even they have got to be tired of playing this event.

I’m just saying!!!!

- Ryan Merrett

________

My Opinion (7-5-11)

I agree with the comments from the other posters. I would also like to say the speed limit is NOT being enforced. I drive down Gilmer approx. 4 times per day. I have been trying my hardest to maintain 35...usually averaging 38. EVERY day people fly past me on both sides and in both directions. I usually see no police officers throughout the day with the occasional exception of the rec center or old Piggly Wiggly parking lot.

________

My Opinion (7-5-11)

I just have to write about the street dance. I am in favor of leaving it the way it is now. Every year my husband and I look forward to the dance and the bands that are playing. We see people that we haven't seen  for a while that  love the dance too. The music is our kind of music and we don't want it changed! The place it is held is sort of crowded and maybe a new place would be ok,but leave the bands and music alone! No one gets rowdy or out of place and everyone I have talked to enjoys it very much. So, if you want different bands I sugest you approach another group to sponsor a dance for you. Leave the Tallassee Historical Society and the Sweet Summer Nights alone! - Sandy Phillips

________

My Opinion (7-5-11)

I like the street dance coming to Tallassee. The ONLY thing that could make it better would be to have it in the Spring or Fall, when its cooler and not so muggy. As for the bands; I love the old bands. When we older folks were coming up the bands were the ONE THING we could count on. We had a dance almost every Friday and/or Saturday night at the Rec Center (torn down now)or the American Legion Hall(torn down now) or the Old National Guard Armory, especially after a home football game. Some where in Tallassee there was always some young men forming bands and performing at these dances. Mostly Sweet Young'uns and the Tallassee Play Boys. Those were the days. We also had a drive in, walk in theater and a skating rink. Gee you would think the town would now have 2 or 3 each of these things, but NOTHING. It was after these things died out in town that so many got on drugs. Guess there was nothing else to do and that's sad. I think they should have more street dances for the young and the old to enjoy 3 or 4 times a year. (When its cooler). And bring in a theater and bowling alley and skating rink. SOMETHING!!!

Hey, just my opinon - A. Childers

________

My Opinion (7-5-11)

the street dance does need to be moved to the spring or the fall, especially if the historical society wants a better turn out. have it on a saturday night following an auburn day time home game and draw people traveling back from the game that night. set up a few projection screens away from the stage to watch the other games being played that night. we, allegedly, have such creative minds running this town and we keep having the same old ideas prevailing.

as far as the bands are concerned, GET NEW BANDS!. the sweet younguns are ok, but they are not what the 50 and younger crowd want to hear, and these are the people you are trying to attract to this town to stay. the sweet younguns are an old folks band, and the old folks are already here and are not going anywhere. they are happy with our SMALMART, Jacks, Hardees and nothing to do here.

ray goss would make a better headline band as far as i am concerned, but i think many of the younger generation would like a more progressive form of entertainment than the old and tired "sweet olduns". when is the last time the historical society did a legetimate survey and asked the locals what they would like to hear? that's what i thought, never. i guess it's called an historical society because that is the mindset of this town.

this all goes to show you that this town does not want anything different and never has. i will never forget the conversation i had with "the honorable" dale segrest concerning the controversial sports bar and grille downtown. he told me that there would never be a "saloon" in the downtown area and the VFW was all this town needed. i did think it was hypocritical that he, later, had a wine tasting in his downtown office lol.

if you ever want to downtown area revitalized, it's going to have to include quality dining and a drinking establishment or two. you want revenue to flow after 5 pm and that is something bars and restaurants generate. barber shops, office supplys, clothing stores, architects offices, dance studios and jewelry stores close down at 5 and so does the revenue. i don't blame the mayor for this, i blame the same old people, and easily swayed younger people, for not allowing any kind of drinking or drinking/dining establishment into this area. if george was not mayor, he would be the first one in line to have a few drinks at the bar. i sat beside him at the bar 3-4 nights a week at the old saddleback restaurant and we both had more than we needed to be driving home. it was our regular hangout. by the way, i didn't say this to throw the mayor under the bus, he enjoys having a good time just like anyone else.

i know drinking is a personal chioce, and i now make it my choice to almost never drink anymore, but it is not my place to tell everyone else to not drink - rhett dennis

________

My Opinion (7-5-11)

My question is why do they let people drink at this downtown and they would not allow a person to  start up a pub and grill downtown that would bring money to the town of Tallassee? All of the reasons that they gave not to let them start up the business was just so politically right.  I wonder how many people was at the street dance drinking that said they did not want the pub to come to Tallassee. So when they left the street dance was they drunk or not? So for one night a year it is ok to drink downtown and have a good time. Because our Mayor said that we could. Tallassee you better wake up and see what is going on before this town goes away. Young people is moving away because there is nothing to do here. Really no place to eat here except fast food but really one great mexican restaurant. I guess I can say this because I have live here all my life but now I really think it is time for me to look else where also. This town will never grow because the leaders and the older people does not want it to - Thomas Mask

________

My Opinion (7-5-11)

went to the street dance last night and had a blast! i have to say this is the wettest one i have ever attented,but it was fun anyway. were you there mr. dennis? if not you missed a good time. as far as new bands,well the number of us old folks way out number the young ones. so, let us have a night for our fun. keep up the good work THS i love the dance - sandy phillips

________

My Opinion (7-5-11)

sorry, sandy. didn't make it to the street dance last night. i went to atlanta yesterday morning and did some shopping, dining and played a little music. there were so many choices i almost couldn't decide where to eat. i got home in time for the street dance, but watching re-runs on CSPAN seemed like more fun.

i'm glad you, and hopefully everyone, had a blast. it may have been a little wet, but it wasn't as hot as usual last night. the reason there were older folks there was the entertainment was geared toward an older crowd. this is just one more example of the city saying "younger people not needed in this town". i am not young anymore, but i would like a little variety, or better yet, creativity.

hope everyone made it home safe and money was raised to help a good cause.

i agree with thomas, i have lived here most of my 45 years and have seen nothing but a decline in retail and restaurants. i think it's pretty simple, most people drive to montgomery and auburn today like we drove across town 30 years ago. montgomery shopping is much more convenient than shopping here and getting half of what you needed and having to go elsewhere to finish shopping. it's an up hill battle and will require our leaders to get creative and allow some establishments to come here that they have been pressured to deny before. but what do i know? i only spent 6 years in the tourism industry. i am sure our city leaders have much more experience with tourism than i do.

y'all have a great day and don't forget to mark that calendar for a rockin' night of the "sweet olduns" next july lol

________

My Opinion (7-5-11)

When is the speed limit going to be inforced,seems like they are going faster. Another thing do the police officers have to abide by the speed limit to. I understand if they had on thier blue lights and sirens, but just to be flying down the road, no they should have to abide by the laws and give turn signals to.

________

My Opinion (7-5-11)

To the people complaining about the speeding going on in the Emfinger subdivision, you are not alone and you may as well get used to it. I live on Central Boulevard and have had a telephone pole taken out by a car in my yard, seen numerous crashes right in front of my house, road rage, people drive through my yard ALL THE TIME and the speed limit is 35 mph through there! I understand that your area is much quieter and  more secluded than Central, but the fact is that Central Boulevard is a residential area as well and there are constantly adults and children crossing Central on foot and on bikes. Asking for police to patrol your area more often isn't going to fix anything. It sure hasn't helped in my area. (That is, when you actually see a police car.) Please stop acting as if you're the only folks in town who have a speeding issue in their neighborhood. It seems like every 3rd car that comes down Central is doing 60 mph easily....including the police and without their pursuit lights on!


Birthdays (7-5-11)

Carleigh Alayna ~ Happy 1st Birthday!  We love you!
Natalie ~ Happy 10th Birthday! We love you too!

- Lissa, Paul and Carmen Ledbetter


Interested in voicing your opinion on this page?

*We reserve the right to refusal for content on any submission

E-mail
or use the "Comment" link at the bottom of each article

Or you may write:

Tallassee Times
Attn: Opinion
P. O. Box 780146
Tallassee, AL 36078