News Sports Opinion Photos Social Classified Obits Contact

Coyle wins Sewell Award

Staff Report

The 15th Annual Joe Sewell Memorial Award banquet was held on Tuesday at the Wetumpka Civic Center. Tallassee High School's Emma Coyle was the female winner, recognized for Christian leadership. Elmore County High School's James Singleton Jr. was the male recipient.

Each student will receive a $3,000 scholarship. The Sewell Award highlights outstanding high school senior athletes in Elmore County. $1,000 scholarships are also awarded in academics, athletics, leadership, church, community and character.

Coyle was cheer team captain at Tallassee and named an All-American Cheerleader. She attends Grace Point Church, is an active volunteer in her church and community. Coyle was also the recipient of the Elmore County’s Distinguished Young Woman Scholastic Award. She is the daughter of John and Rebecca Coyle.

“It was such an honor to be chosen as the girl’s overall winner for the Joe Sewell Memorial Scholarship Award," Coyle said. "Thank you to the families and friends who have helped me every step of the way, and a well-deserved congratulations to all 28 senior finalists."

Singleton played baseball, basketball and football at ECHS and was baseball and basketball team captain for the Panthers. He serves as an officer for several honor societies at his school, and was also a Bryant Jordan Regional Winner. Singleton attends Rock Springs Baptist Church and is the son of James Singleton and Kristy Singleton.

Tallassee Nominees (left to right): Logan Pierce, Emma Coyle, Bailey Sharp, Mary Kate Lackey

Category Award Winners ($1,000 Scholarships)

Boy’s Athletic Award: Tyler Abernathy, Edgewood Academy
Girl’s Athletic Award: Madison Traylor, Elmore County High School
Boy’s Leadership Award: Bailey Barfoot, Stanhope Elmore High School
Girl’s Leadership Award: Anna Kate Norton, Wetumpka High School
Boy’s Academic Award: Tucker Jones, Holtville High School
Girl’s Academic Award: Grace Barlet, Elmore County High School
Boy’s Church, Community & Character Award: Hunter Scott Wallace, Wetumpka High School
Girl’s Church, Community & Character Award: Jelauryn Crenshaw, Stanhope Elmore High School